John Souttar Rangers handball ‘natural position’ verdict as inconsistencies highlighted

The penalty given against Rangers’ John Souttar was “very harsh” and highlighted the inconsistencies with the handball rule. That’s according to former Gers goalkeeper Cammy Bell who agreed with manager Philippe Clement’s assertion that there wasn’t much the defender could have done to prevent it from happening.

John Souttar Rangers handball 'natural position' verdict as inconsistencies  highlighted - Football Scotland

The Light Blues conceded their first league penalty for 23 months after Kilmarnock star Daniel Armstrong’s cross was blocked by Souttar’s arm.

Clement felt it was unfair on his side, especially coming days after being raging about not being awarded a spot kick for an apparent handball by Celtic defender Alistair Johnstone Pundit Bell agreed with the Belgian to a degree and hinted it was not an unnatural position for the defender’s arm to be in. Asked if he was of a similar mind to the Gers boss, he told BBC’s Sportscene: “Yes and no. I think John Souttar is aware of his body position and arm position.

He’s sliding in with his right leg leading, his right arm is obviously going to go with his right leg. Marvin Bartley was on the same wavelength and insisted Souttar’s arm WAS in a natural position, although can see why it was given. He added: “His arm is always going to come up, that for me is a natural position. But I understand in the modern game now, it’s going to be a penalty kick. It’s just the way it is.”

MORE NEWS ON RANGER HERE

Tags:

Add a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *